Books

Futureface (Adapted for Young Readers)

A Family Mystery, a Search for Identity, and the Truth About Belonging

For anyone who is interested in genealogy and DNA profiling, this is the story of a journalist who travels the world to solve the mystery of her ancestry, facing questions about American identity and what it means to belong. Now adapted for young ...

More

The Water Dancer

A Novel

In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, brings home the most intimate evil of enslavement: the cleaving and separation of families.
 
Young Hiram ...

More

Buy

The Underground Railroad Records

Narrating the Hardships, Hairbreadth Escapes, and Death Struggles of Slaves in Their Efforts for Freedom

A riveting collection of the hardships, hairbreadth escapes and mortal struggles of enslaved people seeking freedom: these are the true stories of the Underground Railroad.

As a conductor for the Underground Railroad, the covert resistance ...

More

Confessions of the Fox

A Novel

A New York Times Editors’ Choice: “A mind-bending romp through a gender-fluid, eighteenth century London . . . a joyous mash-up of literary genres shot through with queer theory and awash in sex, crime, and ...

More

Buy

A People’s Future of the United States

Speculative Fiction from 25 Extraordinary Writers

A glittering landscape of twenty-five speculative stories that challenge oppression and envision new futures for America—from N. K. Jemisin, Charles Yu, Jamie Ford, G. Willow Wilson, Charlie Jane Anders, Hugh Howey, and more. In these ...

More

What the Eyes Don't See

A Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • The dramatic story of the Flint water crisis, by a relentless physician who stood up to power.

“Stirring . . . [a] blueprint for all those who believe . . . that ‘the world . . ...

More

Buy

We Cast a Shadow

A Novel

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white

“Stunning and ...

More

Futureface

A Family Mystery, an Epic Quest, and the Secret to Belonging

An acclaimed journalist travels the globe to solve the mystery of her ancestry, confronting the question at the heart of the American experience of immigration, race, and identity: Who are my people?

“A thoughtful, beautiful meditation ...

More

We Were Eight Years in Power

An American Tragedy

In these “urgently relevant essays,”* the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including the election of ...

More

Crux

A Cross-Border Memoir

A daughter’s quest to understand her charismatic and troubled father, an immigrant who crosses borders both real and illusory—between sanity and madness, science and spirituality, life and death

Winner of the PEN/FUSION Emerging ...

More

Buy

Brothers of the Gun

A Memoir of the Syrian War

A bracingly immediate memoir by a young man coming of age during the Syrian war, an intimate lens on the century’s bloodiest conflict, and a profound meditation on kinship, home, and freedom.

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE ...

More

Bones

Brothers, Horses, Cartels, and the Borderland Dream

The dramatic true story of two brothers living parallel lives on either side of the U.S.-Mexico border—and how their lives converged in a major criminal conspiracy

José and Miguel Treviño were bonded by blood and a shared ...

More

Buy

Between the World and Me

Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States” (The New York ...

More